Evolution of CNN Architectures: LeNet, AlexNet, ZFNet, GoogleNet, VGG and ResNet

It all started with LeNet in 1998 and eventually, after nearly 15 years, lead to ground breaking models winning the ImageNet Large Scale Visual Recognition Challenge which includes AlexNet in 2012 to GoogleNet in 2014 to ResNet in 2015 to ensemble of previous models in 2016. In the last 2 years, no significant progress has been made and the new models are an ensemble of previous ground breaking models.

The models includes:

  • LeNet in 1998
  • AlexNet in 2012
  • ZFNet in 2013
  • VGG in 2014
  • GoogleNet in 2014
  • ResNet in 2015

Read this article to understand the evolution of CNN architectures better

Have a doubt or thought? Join the discussion now
This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at http://iq.opengenus.org/evolution-of-cnn-architectures/